Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

Announcing our 2016 Inductees

October 8, 2015

London, ON – Dr. Jean Gray, Chair of The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame (CMHF) announced today that Professor Michael Bliss, Dr. May Cohen, Dr. Gordon Guyatt, Dr. David Naylor, The late Right Honourable Sir Charles Tupper and Dr. Mark Wainberg have been selected for induction into The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame.

"The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame is proud to welcome these six individuals whose outstanding contributions to health have made Canada, and the world, a better place," said Dr. Gray. "Their impact is well documented and they have earned their place alongside the current 113 Laureates of The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame."

These outstanding Canadian and international leaders will celebrate this prestigious recognition at a ceremony held in association with McMaster University, Faculty of Health Sciences on April 14, 2016 at The Hamilton Convention Centre in Hamilton, Ontario.

"The impact of the extraordinary lifework of this year's inductees into The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame has resonated across Canada and around the world, improving the health of millions not just now, but for generations to come," said Dr. John Kelton, dean and vice-president, Faculty of Health Sciences of McMaster University. "We look forward to welcoming the inductees and supporters of the CMHF from across Canada to a gala celebration here in Hamilton."

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Laureates are individuals whose outstanding contributions to medicine and the health sciences have led to extraordinary improvements in human health. Their work may be a single meritorious contribution or a lifetime of superior accomplishments. Pioneers in their field, they are role models and an inspiration to young Canadians to pursue careers in the health sciences.    

Professor Michael Bliss, OC PhD FRSC(Toronto, ON)
Dr. May Cohen, MD FCFP (Toronto / Hamilton, ON)
Dr. Gordon Guyatt, OC FRCPC FRSC (Hamilton, ON)
Dr. C. David Naylor, OC FRCPC FRSC DPhil (Toronto, ON)
The late Right Honourable Sir Charles Tupper, MD(Halifax, NS)
Dr. Mark Wainberg, OC OQ PhD FRSC (Montreal, QC)

Complete biographies and photos

Established in 1994, The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame (CMHF) is a national charitable organization that fosters future generations of health professionals through the celebration of our country’s rich medical history, scholarship program, award program for medical students and the delivery of both local and nationwide education programs for youth.  Each year, up to six individuals are recognized for their extraordinary contribution to improving the health of Canadians and people world-wide. The stories of the laureates are showcased on the web and in a portrait gallery, exhibit hall and media theatre located in downtown London, ON.

McMaster University, one of four Canadian universities listed among the Top 100 universities in the world, is renowned for its innovation in both learning and discovery. It has a student population of 23,000, and more than 160,000 alumni in 140 countries. The Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine has a global reputation for educational advancement, and it is internationally known for its research intensity and development of evidence-based medicine.

Lissa Foster, Executive Director
The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame
Office: 519.488.2003, x100 | Cell: 519.636.0660 | lfoster [at]