Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

Joseph Martin

Né dans le sud de l’Alberta dans une famille d’agriculteurs mennonites, le Dr Joseph B. Martin a eu une carrière extraordinaire de plusieurs décennies à titre de scientifique, de médecin et d’administrateur, aidant à établir la discipline de la neuroendocrinologie et devenant finalement doyen de la Faculté de médecine de Harvard. À toutes les étapes de son travail, le Dr Martin s’est distingué par sa capacité à promouvoir la collaboration pour l’établissement des bases institutionnelles de l’enseignement de la médecine et des sciences au Canada et aux États-Unis. Il laisse en héritage des travaux préliminaires révolutionnaires sur la génétique de la maladie de Huntington (HD) et de la maladie d’Alzheimer, un centre de recherche sur la HD parrainé par les National Institutes of Health à l’hôpital Massachusetts General, un campus élargi de l’Université de la Californie à San Francisco consacré à la recherche biomédicale, à la bio-ingénierie et à la santé mondiale, la Fondation Alberta Heritage pour la recherche médicale et le Centre d’oncologie Dana Farber à Harvard. Le Dr Martin a joué un rôle clé dans la création de l’Institut ontarien du cerveau, dont il a coprésidé le comité fondateur. Il est l’auteur de plus de 200 articles évalués par les pairs et coauteur de cinq éditions de l’ouvrage Harrison’s Principles of Medicine, l’un des manuels de médecine les plus utilisés en Amérique du Nord. Sa carrière a contribué à assurer l’expansion continue de la recherche primaire et la formation de nouvelles générations de scientifiques et de médecins dans plusieurs instituts de recherche et des universités les plus importants de l’Amérique du Nord.

Le Dr Martin a siégé aux comités de rédaction du New England Journal of Medicine, des Annals of Neurology and Neurological Science. Il est membre de la National Academy of Medicine (NAM) dont il a présidé le comité qui a mené à l’élaboration de l’initiative de cartographie du cerveau humain. Le DMartin a également siégé au Conseil de la NAM, anciennement l’Institute of Medicine, pour deux mandats. Il est membre de l’American Academy of Arts and Sciences, de l’American Association for the Advancement of Science et de l’American Association of Physicians et membre et ancien président de l’American Neurological Association. Le Dr Martin a reçu de nombreuses distinctions nationales et internationales tout au long de sa carrière, y compris le Prix Abraham Flexner de l’Association of American Medical Colleges pour sa contribution à l’éducation en médecine.

L’avancement continu de la science médicale dépend de plus en plus du genre de compétences dont le Dr Martin a fait preuve. La capacité des scientifiques-administrateurs de mobiliser des ressources, de coordonner des équipes de chercheurs et de modéliser et favoriser l’échange collaboratif est essentielle à l’organisation et à la diffusion des connaissances scientifiques. La concentration de la recherche dans les universités exige un travail de gestion de la part d’administrateurs-scientifiques qui comprennent parfaitement les disciplines qu’ils supervisent et soutiennent. Pendant le mandat du Dr Martin à Harvard, le programme d’études de la faculté de médecine a été entièrement révisé, un projet réalisable seulement avec le plus haut niveau de perspicacité, d’expertise et de leadership. Les nombreux collègues du Dr Martin soulignent sa réputation d’honnêteté et sa capacité à inspirer confiance. Son travail à Harvard et son soutien de toute une vie à l’avancement de la médecine au Canada ont étendu les avantages de la science à l’ensemble de l’Amérique du Nord et au monde entier.

Le Dr Martin a reçu huit doctorats honorifiques et, en 2007, l’Université Harvard lui a rendu hommage en créant à la faculté de médecine le Centre de conférences Joseph B. Martin.

Les mémoires du Dr Martin, Alfalfa to Ivy; Memoir of a Harvard Medical School Dean, ont été publiés en 2011 par les Presses de l’Université de l’Alberta. En 2017, il a publié une série d’essais fondés sur des discours prononcés à l’occasion de collations des grades : Reflections on Science, Religion and Society: A Medical Perspective (Friesen Press).

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

Joseph Martin

Born in southern Alberta to a Mennonite farm family, Dr. Joseph B. Martin has had an extraordinary decades-long career as a scientist, physician, and administrator, helping to establish the discipline of neuroendocrinology and eventually serving for ten years as Dean of Harvard Medical School.  In all phases of his work, Dr. Martin has been distinguished for his ability to promote collaboration in building and expanding the institutional foundations of medical education and science in both Canada and the United States.  His legacy includes groundbreaking early work in the genetics of Huntington’s disease (HD) and Alzheimer’s disease (AD), development of an NIH-sponsored HD Research Center at Massachusetts General Hospital, an expanded campus at University of California, San Francisco devoted to biomedical, bioengineering, and global health research, the Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research, and the Dana Farber Harvard Cancer Center.  Dr. Martin was a key figure in the development of the Ontario Brain Institute where he served as co-chair of the organizing committee. He has authored more than 200 peer-reviewed articles, and co-edited Harrison’s Principles of Medicine, for five editions, one of the standard medical textbooks in North America.  His career has helped to ensure continued expansion of primary research and preparation of new generations of scientists and physicians at several of North America’s most important universities and research institutes.

Dr. Martin has served on the editorial boards of the New England Journal of Medicine, the Annals of Neurology and Neurological Science.  He is a member of the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) where he chaired the Academy’s committee that led to development of the Human Brain mapping initiative. Dr. Martin was also a member of the Council of the NAM, formerly the Institute of Medicine, for two terms. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a member of the American Association of Physicians and a member and past president of the American Neurological Association. Dr. Martin has received numerous other national and international distinctions throughout his career, including the Abraham Flexner Award of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), for his contributions to medical education.

Continued advancement of medical science depends increasingly on the skills exemplified by Dr. Martin.  The ability of scientist-administrators to marshal resources, to coordinate teams of researchers, and to model and foster collaborative exchange is essential to the organization and distribution of scientific knowledge. The concentration of research in universities requires management by administrator-scientists who fully understand the disciplines they supervise and support. During Dr. Martin's tenure at Harvard, the medical school curriculum was comprehensively revised, a project achievable only with the highest levels of insight, expertise, and leadership. The one characteristic that Dr. Martin's many colleagues have noted in his work is a reputation for honesty and the ability to inspire trust.  His work at Harvard, and his lifelong support of medical advancement in Canada, has extended the benefits of science throughout North America and the world.      

Dr. Martin is the recipient of eight honorary doctorate degrees and in 2007 was recognized by Harvard University with the naming of the Joseph B. Martin Conference Center at the medical school.

Dr. Martin’s Memoir; Alfalfa to Ivy; Memoir of a Harvard Medical School Dean was published in 2011 by the University of Alberta Press.  In 2017, he published a set of essays based upon commencement addresses entitled: Reflections on Science, Religion and Society: A Medical Perspective (Friesen Press).