Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

Laureates of The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

Six Canadian medical heroes are inducted annually to The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame. Their work may be a single meritorious contribution or a lifetime of superior accomplishments. Pioneers in their field, they are role models of excellence in health in Canada and the world.


 Each Laureate page boasts a detailed biography and a personal tribute video. Simply click the play button on the Laureate page to view their video.  
Look for this symbol 


Image result for play button

To search Laureates by name, type the last name in the search tool found on the top right hand corner of each page.   
Look for this symbol


Search their stories by health category    Click HERE for a list of the Laureates



Dr. Maude Elizabeth Seymour Abbott* (1994)

Dr. Albert Aguayo (2011)

Dr. Oswald Avery* (2004)



Dr. Elizabeth Bagshaw* (2007)

Sir Frederick Grant Banting* (1994)

Dr. Henry J.M. Barnett (1995)

Dr. Murray Barr* (1998)

Dr. Charles Thomas Beer* (1997)

Dr. Bernard Belleau* (2000)

Dr. Alan Bernstein (2014)

Dr. Charles Herbert Best* (1994)

Dr. Norman Bethune* (1998)

Dr. John Bienenstock (2011)

Dr. Wilfred Gordon Bigelow* (1997)

Dr. Roberta Bondar (1998)

Dr. John Bradley* (2001)

Dr. Henri J. Breault* (1997)

Dr. G. Malcolm Brown* (2000)

Dr. John Symonds Lyon Browne* (1994)

Dr. Alan Burton* (2010)



Dr. Bruce Chown* (1995)

Dr. William A. Cochrane (2010)

Dr. James Bertram Collip* (1994)

Dr. Douglas Harold Copp* (1994)

Dr. Max Cynader (2014)



Dr. Félix d’Hérelle* (2007)

Ste Marguerite d’Youville* (2003)

Dr. Paul David* (2011)

Dr. Adolfo de Bold (2014)

Dr. John Dirks (2012)

The Honourable Thomas C. Douglas* (1998)

Dr. Charles George Drake* (1994)

Dr. Jean Dussault* (2007)



Dr. John Evans* (2000)



Dr. Ray Farquharson* (1998)

The Honourable Sylvia Fedoruk* (2009)

Dr. William Howard Feindel* (2003)

Dr. C. Miller Fisher* (1998)

Dr. James G. FitzGerald* (2004)

Dr. Claude Fortier* (1998)

Terry Fox* (2012)

Dr. Armand Frappier* (2012)

Dr. F. Clarke Fraser* (2012)

Dr. Henry Friesen (2001)



Dr. William E. Gallie* (2001)

Dr. Jacques Genest (1994)

Dr. Gustave Gingras* (1998)

Dr. Phil Gold (2010)

Dr. Wilfred Thomason Grenfell* (1997)



Dr. Antoine Hakim (2013)

Dr. Judith Hall (2014)

Dr. Donald O. Hebb* (2003)

Dr. Jack Hirsh (2000)

Dr. James C. Hogg (2010)

Dr. Charles H. Hollenberg* (2003)

Dr. David Hubel* (2006)

Dr. Charles B. Huggins* (2003)



Dr. Herbert Jasper* (1995)

Dr. Harold Johns* (1998)





The Honourable Wilbert Keon (2007)

Dr. Leonora King (Howard)* (2000)



The Honourable Marc Lalonde (2004)

Dr. Bernard Langer (2014)

Dr. Charles P. Leblond* (1995)

Dr. Maurice LeClair (2004)

Dr. Heinz Lehmann* (1998)

The Honourable Peter Lougheed* (2001)



Dr. Walter C. Mackenzie* (2014)

Dr. Peter T. Macklem* (2012)

Dr. David MacLennan (2013)

Dr. John James Rickard (J.J.R.)Macleod* (2012)

Dr. Tak Wah Mak (2009)

Dr. Pierre Masson* (1997)

Dr. John McCrae (2014)

Dr. Ernest McCulloch* (2004)

Dr. John S. McEachern* (2006)

Dr. Ian McWhinney* (2006)

Dr. Jonathan C. Meakins* (2011)

Dr. Ronald Melzack (2009)

Dr. Maud Menten* (1998)

Dr. Brenda Milner (1997)

Dr. Julio Montaner (2014)

Dr. Frederick Montizambert* (2001)

Dr. T J. (Jock) Murray (2014)

Dr. J. Fraser Mustard* (2003)

Dr. William Thornton Mustard* (1995)



Dr. Arnold Naimark (2013)

Dr. Robert Laing Noble* (1997)



Sir William Osler* (1994)



Dr. Anthony Pawson* (2006)

Dr. Wilder Graves Penfield* (1994)

Dr. M. Vera Peters* (2010)



Dr. Allan Ronald (2011)

Dr. Claude Roy (2013)

Dr. Ian Rusted* (2013)



Dr. David Sackett (2000)

Dr. Robert Bruce Salter* (1995)

Dr. Charles Scriver (2001)

Dr. Hans Selye* (2006)

Dr. Louis Siminovitch (1997)

Dr. Duncan G. Sinclair (2014)

Dr. Michael Smith* (1995)

Dr. Bette Stephenson (2013)

Dr. Calvin R. Stiller (2010)



Dr. Charles Tator (2009)

Dr. Lucille Teasdale-Corti* (2001)

Dr. James Till (2004)

Dr. Lap-Chee Tsui  (2012)

Dr. Endel Tulving (2007)

Dr. D. Lorne Tyrrell (2011)



Dr. Mladen Vranic (2009)



Dr. Ron Worton (2014)



Dr. Salim Yusuf (2014)