Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

More About Our Laureates


Six Canadian medical heroes are inducted annually to the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame. Their work may be a single meritorious contribution or a lifetime of superior accomplishments. Pioneers in their field, they are role models of excellence in health in Canada and the world.

  Each Laureate page boasts a detailed biography and a personal tribute video.
Simply click the play button on the Laureate page to view their video.  
Look for this symbol

To search Laureates by name, type the last name in the search tool
found on the top right hand corner of each page.   
Look for this symbol



Search Laureate stories by health category    Printable List of Laureates

Laureate Selection Committee - September 2020

CMHF Podcast Series



Maude Abbott MD* (1994)    

Albert Aguayo MD (2011)

Oswald Avery MD* (2004)



Elizabeth Bagshaw MD* (2007)

Sir Frederick Banting MD* (1994)

Henry Barnett MD* (1995)

Murray Barr MD* (1998)

Charles Beer PhD* (1997)

Bernard Belleau PhD* (2000)

Philip Berger MD (2018)

Michel G. Bergeron MD (2017)

Alan Bernstein PhD (2015)

Charles Best MD PhD* (1994)

Norman Bethune MD* (1998)

John Bienenstock MD (2011)

Wilfred Bigelow MD* (1997)

Michael Bliss PhD* (2016)

Roberta Bondar MD (1998)

John Bradley MD* (2001)

Henri J. Breault MD* (1997)

G. Malcolm Brown PhD* (2000)

John (JSL) Browne MD PhD* (1994)

Alan Burton PhD* (2010)



G. Brock Chisholm MD (2019)

Bruce Chown MD* (1995)

Michel Chrétien MD (2017)

William A. Cochrane MD (2010)

May Cohen MD (2016)

James Collip MD PhD* (1994)

Douglas Copp MD* (1994)

Max Cynader PhD (2014)



Félix d’Hérelle* (2007)

Ste Marguerite d’Youville* (2003)

Paul David MD* (2011)

Adolfo de Bold PhD (2014)

Naranjan S. Dhalla PhD (2019)

John Dirks MD (2012)

James A. Dosman MD (2019)

The Honourable Thomas Douglas* (1998)

Charles George Drake MD* (1994)

Jacalyn Duffin MD PhD (2019)

Jean Dussault MD* (2007)



Connie Eaves PhD (2019)

John Evans MD* (2000)



Ray Farquharson MD* (1998)

The Honourable Sylvia Fedoruk MA* (2009)

William Howard Feindel MD PhD* (2003)

B. Brett Finlay PhD (2018)

C. Miller Fisher MD* (1998)

John FitzGerald MD PhD* (2004)

Claude Fortier MD* (1998)

Terry Fox* (2012)

Armand Frappier MD* (2012)

F. Clarke Fraser* (2012)

Henry Friesen MD (2001)



William Gallie MD* (2001)

Jacques Genest MD* (1994)

Gustave Gingras MD* (1998)

Phil Gold MD PhD(2010)

Richard B. Goldbloom MD (2017)

Wilfred Grenfell MD* (1997)

Gordon Guyatt MD (2016)



Vladimir Hachinski MD (2018)

Antoine Hakim MD PhD (2013)

Justice Emmett Hall* (2017)

Judith Hall MD (2015)

Michael Hayden MD PhD (2017)

Donald O. Hebb PhD* (2003)

Jack Hirsh MD (2000)

James Hogg MD PhD (2010)

Charles Hollenberg MD* (2003)

David Hubel MD* (2006)

Charles Huggins MD* (2003)



Herbert Jasper MD PhD* (1995)

Harold Johns PhD* (1998)





The Honourable Wilbert Keon* (2007)

Leonora Howard King MD* (2000)



The Honourable Marc Lalonde (2004)

Bernard Langer MD (2015)

Charles Leblond MD* (1995)

Maurice LeClair MD (2004)

Heinz Lehmann MD* (1998)

The Honourable Peter Lougheed* (2001)



Walter C. Mackenzie MD* (2014)

Peter T. Macklem MD* (2012)

David MacLennan PhD* (2013)

John James R. Macleod MD* (2012)

Tak Wah Mak PhD (2009)

Pierre Masson MD* (1997)

John McCrae MD* (2015)

Ernest McCulloch MD* (2004)

John McEachern MD* (2006)

Ian McWhinney MD* (2006)

Jonathan Meakins MD* (2011)

Ronald Melzack PhD* (2009)

Maud Menten MD* (1998)

Brenda Milner PhD (1997)

Julio Montaner MD (2015)

Frederick Montizambert MD* (2001)

Balfour Mount MD (2018)

T J. (Jock) Murray MD (2014)

J. Fraser Mustard MD PhD* (2003)

William Mustard MD* (1995)


N - O

Arnold Naimark MD (2013)

C. David Naylor MD (2016)

Robert Noble PhD* (1997)

Sir William Osler MD* (1994)



Anthony Pawson PhD* (2006)

Wilder Penfield MD* (1994)

M. Vera Peters MD* (2010)



Rémi Quirion PhD (2019)



Cheryl Rockman-Greenberg MD (2018)

Allan Ronald MD (2011)

Claude Roy MD* (2013)

Ian Rusted MD* (2013)



David Sackett MD* (2000)

Robert Bruce Salter MD* (1995)

Charles Scriver MD (2001)

Hans Selye MD PhD* (2006)

Louis Siminovitch PhD (1997)

F. Estelle R. Simons MD (2017)

Duncan G. Sinclair PhD (2015)

Michael Smith PhD* (1995)

Bette Stephenson MD* (2013)

Calvin R. Stiller MD (2010)

Emily Stowe MD* (2018)



Charles Tator MD PhD (2009)

Lucille Teasdale-Corti MD* (2001)

James Till PhD (2004)

Lap-Chee Tsui PhD (2012)

Endel Tulving PhD (2007)

Sir Charles Tupper MD* (2016)

D. Lorne Tyrrell MD PhD (2011)


V - Y

Mladen Vranic MD* (2009)

Mark A. Wainberg PhD* (2016)

Ronald Worton PhD (2014)

Salim Yusuf PhD (2014)