Canadian Medical Hall of Fame


October 6, 2016

London, ON - Dr. Bryce Taylor, Chair of the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame (CMHF) announced today that the following individuals have been selected for induction into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame:


Dr. F. Estelle R. Simons

With colleagues in immunology, Dr. Simons elucidated important mechanisms of human interactions with the environment that lead to allergen sensitization and allergic disease, and investigated new approaches to immune modulation.

Many of her 570 peer-reviewed publications are widely cited. She has also edited or co-edited eight textbooks, including the major reference textbook Middleton’s Allergy: Principles and Practice. She has given more than 300 invited research presentations at major congresses, universities, and research institutes on six continents.


Dr. Michael Hayden

Dr. Hayden moved to British Columbia from Harvard Medical School in 1983 to join the medical faculty of UBC. He currently serves as President of Global R&D and Chief Scientific Officer for TEVA Pharmaceuticals headquartered in Israel. Dr. Hayden is the most cited author in the world for HD and has written more than 840 peer-reviewed publications and invited submissions.  His research into the mechanisms of HD have produced reliable predictive tests and new opportunities for prevention and treatment. 


Justice Emmett Hall

The clarity and compassion of his defense of medicare deserve to be remembered:


Dr. Richard B. Goldbloom

Dr. Goldbloom achieved international recognition as a pioneer of family participation in the care of hospitalized children, having introduced one of the first Care-by-Parent Units in Canada.  He has authored hundreds of articles and seven books, including Pediatric Clinical Skills, a popular textbook for medical undergraduates and postgraduates.  He has taught and lectured in many countries, providing guidance on issues of health care for children.  Chair or president of many boards and committees, Dr.


Dr. Michel Chrétien

PCs play important roles in brain functions related to pain and behavior, in organ growth and development, in endocrine/neuroendocrine regulations, and in sugar and body fat homeostasis. PCs are implicated in many diseases including metabolic syndrome, diabetes, obesity, cancer, atherosclerosis, dyslipidemia, and Alzheimer’s, as well as viral and bacterial infections.  Dr. Chrétien discovered a beneficial PCSK9 mutation present only in French Canadian families which protected them from cardiovascular diseases.  His work exemplifies: ¨From bedside to bench and back.”


Dr. Michel G. Bergeron

In 1985, Bergeron began his search for rapid molecular (DNA-based) methods to accelerate diagnosis of infectious diseases, which has reduced the time of diagnosis from ≥48 to <1h.  This tremendous advance enables physicians to identify microbes and their antibiotic resistance genes and treat infectious diseases almost immediately, saving lives and promoting effective and sustainable use of antibiotics.  Building on this breakthrough, and working with a transdisciplinary team, Bergeron has developed technologies for detecting and identifying dangerous bacteria in health facilities, helpin


Dr. Mark Wainberg

Combining scientific excellence with a social conscience on a global scale, Dr. Wainberg’s research and collaborations are acknowledged as having helped save millions of lives. Dr. Wainberg served as the director of the McGill University AIDS Centre at the Jewish General Hospital upon his untimely death in a swimming accident. He revolutionized our understanding of HIV/AIDS at medical, epidemiological and political levels. Dr.


Sir Charles Tupper

Dr. Tupper later held leadership roles in the growing city of Halifax as chief medical officer, as a member of the surgical staff of the provincial and city hospital, and as president of the Medical Society of Nova Scotia. Turning his attention to politics, Dr. Tupper was elected into the Nova Scotia Assembly in 1855 and served as Premier from 1864 to 1867.  Despite powerful opposition, Dr. Tupper helped pass the Free Education Act and eventually led Nova Scotia into Confederation. The founding president of the Canadian Medical Association in 1867, he served for three consecutive terms.


Dr. C. David Naylor

Co-author of more than 300 scholarly publications spanning multiple medical fields, inaugural governor of the new Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Dr. Naylor has worked tirelessly to improve the scope, funding, and organization of health research in Canada.  Heading the federal inquiry into Canada’s national response to the SARS epidemic (2003), Dr. Naylor was instrumental in establishing the Public Health Agency of Canada leading to the appointment of Canada’s first Chief Public Health Officer.  More recently, as Canada’s representative, Dr.